Google Maps used to have a nice feature where, when logged in to your Google account, you could add named destinations. Once they were saved, you could type the destination like “work” when looking for directions, and the address would populate automatically, like so:

Old Destinations

This was lovely, but some time ago (mid-2013) Google disabled this feature unless you enable Web History to store all of your searches (among other things):

Web History Permissions

Now, if you don’t enable web history you get a significantly less useful destinations view; even if you’ve manually saved and added destination addresses, they don’t autopopulate:

New Destinations

This is a case of tying. Unfortunately, since this change was implemented, I don’t think I’ve seen it mentioned in a single location.